Do you have what it takes?

Do you have what it takes to become the next big thing? Now, I know you’re thinking of course I do! SuperheroWhy would you ever have any doubts then read on my friend, read on.   Now for those of you who are still on the fence and trying to determine if blogging is right for you then keep reading and maybe I might just make it look easy enough to try. One thing I know for sure is marketing to the masses continues to evolve and no matter what channel it’s communicated through it’s always a wild ride.  Have no fear; if I can do it so can you!

 Step 1 – Getting started and finding your voice

The number one rule when starting a blog is you MUST grab the reader’s attention within the first few sentences. You can achieve blogging superstardom through a variety of ways. You can write a catchy opening paragraph or add cool interactive features such as pictures, bullet points and videos.  The key importance of these features is to break up the writing and make it pleasing to the eye as well as engage the reader in additional content if they want to explore.   The second most important rule is to write about what you know.  People want to read witty, informative and entertaining post not some drawn out and boring drivel on a topic that may be somewhat new to you.  Not to say that blogs featuring the trials and tribulations of learning something new or forging a new path are not entertaining because they can be, I’m just saying that the best blogs are the ones that feature a compelling story.

Step 2 – Don’t be a quitter

I admit there is nothing more annoying than finding a blog you love only to realize it hasn’t been updated in ages.  The best rule of thumb is to update regularly, and check back frequently for comments.  One of my favorite blogs The Anonymous Accountant has been around for years and the last update I could find was back in 2010.  Seriously, have you seen the enormous following that blog has?  Why would you ever let that kind of talent die?  So many questions so little time, all I can say is don’t be a quitter; your legions of fans will thank you later.

Step 3 – Engage the audience and expand your readership

Ok, so now you’re a blogger – how do you become a superstar?  I thought you would never ask!   First you need to understand your consumer, figure out where they like to hangout and advertise.  Advertising your blog can be simple but requires dedication and consistency to the cause.  You can direct traffic to your blog via a few social media giants such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn or the old fashion way such as word of mouth and emails, among others.  Yes, people do communicate in person and no, email hasn’t gone the way of the dinosaur…yet.

Step 4 Have fun

Have fun, enjoy what you do and your readership will follow.   Who knows maybe I’ll be following you someday?

Additional resources:

Check out Dan Rickershauser’s blog: “10 best practices for corporate blogging” – His blog provides great additional content on best practices.

Groundswell by Charlene Li and Josh Bernoff – A must read for any new social media diva and features “a case study framework for harnessing the wild world of social applications for business.”

Tags: , , , , ,

About The Social Accountant

The trials and tribulations of the modern day staff accountant

6 responses to “Do you have what it takes?”

  1. Jackie Catalano says :

    Love Step 2. Sometimes people get discourage and feel there is no benefit to blogging when indeed there is. Consistency is key. If you keep you content relevant, fresh and on a frequent schedule you can expect more followers and likes. Your statement is so true about visiting an outdated or not maintained blog account. Frustration indeed.
    Thanks for the tips,
    Jackie Catalano

  2. brianwinslow2013 says :

    I agree with your all Important Step 1: Making it interesting and catchy to the reader is key…a good writer will have no problem finding their voice, others will need to work to develop their own personal style.

  3. Rhonda L. (@RhoyalSocialite) says :

    These are all excellent points. As a blogger, I find it challenging to post consistently but it is something that has to be done. I think I have found my voice on the blog, but now I need to build up my audience and cross promoting is an excellent idea!

  4. idget516 says :

    I love that you included “Have Fun” because it’s so true. Blogging, if you want it to be successful, shouldn’t feel like a job! (even if it is part of your job :)) It needs to be fun for you to want to keep it up. I was hesitant at first when I started my blog, however, once the hard part was done (creating it and posting that first time) I feel excited each time I see something or thinking of something for my next post! Having fun is definitely an essential key, along with the others you mentioned as well! Great post!

Leave a Reply

